Yoga Loft Store

The Eight Limbs of Yoga form the backbone to the many forms of yoga we know today. They are outlined and elaborated on in Book Two of the Yoga Sutras.

The Eight Limbs Yoga:

Yamas – ways of thinking that prepare the mind for freedom
Niyamas – ways of practicing that ensure success
Asana – movement that supports the goal of inner healing
Pranayama – breathing methods that calm the mind and body
Pratyahara – gentle withdrawal from the senses
Dharana – gentle steadiness of mind
Dhyana – a way of perceiving that provokes inner peace
Samadhi – a purposed way of living in the world, but not of it.

Together they provide instruction that move us toward a liberated state of mind, free from attachment and joined in the Oneness we all share. Remember, yoga means “to join.” It is a journey without distance to a “place” we never left. It is a process—a gentle, inner practice. It is not something that you do, it’s how you do it. It is a way of thinking—and how you think is everything.

Part 1 takes the listener through the Yamas and Niyamas. Part 2 focuses on the remaining six limbs of yoga.